Canadian Penitentiary Service. The penitentiary service operates under the Penitentiary Act (RSC 1970, c.P-6) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiaries and for the care and training of persons committed to those institutions. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the service and all matters connected therewith.

Canadian Pension Commission. This commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1970, c.P-7), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates on all claims for pensions in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X and Part XII of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures, authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependents. The commission consists of eight to 14 commissioners and up to 10 ad hoc commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank of a deputy minister and it reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names. This committee deals with all questions of geographical nomenclature affecting Canada and undertakes research and investigation into the origin and usage of geographical names. Its membership includes representatives of federal mapping agencies and other federal offices concerned with nomenclature and a representative appointed by each province. The committee's functions were redefined in 1964 (Order in Council PC 1964-1519). The last reorganization recognized that the provinces had exclusive jurisdiction to make decisions on names within their own territory. The committee is administered by the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). This commission, established under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act, 1967-68 (RSC 1970, c.B-11), regulates and supervises all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, promulgated April 1, 1976, amended the Broadcasting Act to give the CRTC regulatory power over federally-regulated telecommunications carriers. The executive committee, after consultation with the part-time members in attendance at a commission meeting, may issue broadcasting licences or renewal licences for such terms, not exceeding five years and subject to such conditions related to the circumstances of the licensee, as the executive committee deems appropriate for the implementation of the broadcasting policy enunciated in Section 3 of the Broadcasting Act. Under the same circumstances, the executive committee may, on application by a licensee, amend any conditions of a broadcasting licence already issued. The commission by a licensee, amend any conditions of a broadcasting licence already issued. The commission experience increases. The commission usually holds public hearings in connection with issuing, suspending, etc., broadcasting licences, and concerning telecommunications matters.

The CRTC consists of nine full-time members and 10 part-time members chosen regionally and appointed by the Governor in Council, It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

Canadian Saltfish Corporation. The Canadian Saltfish Corporation was established under the Saltfish Act (SC 1969-70, c.32) and became operative on May 4, 1970. Its main purpose is to improve the earnings of fishermen and of other primary producers of salt-cured fish, through the production or purchase, processing and marketing of salt cod from participating provinces.

The corporation, with head office at St. John's, Nfld., consists of a board of directors composed of a chairman, whose office is in Ottawa, a president who is general manager, one director for each participating province and not more than five other directors, all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. It is assisted by an advisory committee of 15 members, also appointed by the Governor in Council, at least half of whom are fishermen or representatives of fishermen. The limit of the corporation's financial obligations is \$15 million and the corporation is required to operate without grant appropriation from Parliament. The corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Fisheries and the Environment.

Canadian Transport Commission. The Canadian Transport Commission, a court of record created in 1967 by the National Transportation Act (RSC 1970, c.N-17), took over powers formerly vested in the Board of Transport Commissioners, the Air Transport Board and the Canadian Maritime Commission, giving it regulatory and judicial functions with respect to almost all aspects of railway, commercial air, merchant marine, and commodity pipeline services. The act also provides for the regulation of extraprovincial motor vehicle transport but applicable sections of the act were not in effect as at September 1976, except with respect to the Roadcruiser autobus service operated by the Canadian National Railways in